Medical Leadership

In early 2011, the PHA Scientific Leadership Council started development of the PH Care Centers initiative to assure outstanding care in pulmonary hypertension. Appointed by the PHA Board of Trustees, the PHCC Oversight Committee is tasked with management and governance of the PHCC initiative.

PHCC Oversight Committee

Michael McGoon, MD

Michael D. McGoon, MD
Mayo Clinic

Chair, PHCC Oversight Committee

Murali Chakinala

Murali M. Chakinala, MD
Washington University in Saint Louis

Chair-Elect, PHCC Oversight Committee

Brian Hanna

Brian Hanna, MD, CM, PhD
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Jessie A. Kohler, Esq.

Jessie A. Kohler, Esq.
Panish Shea & Boyle LLP

Diane Ramirez

Diane Ramirez

Patient Representative

Jeffrey S. Sager, MD, MSCE

Jeffrey S. Sager, MD, MSCE
Santa Barbara Pulmonary Consultants

Melisa Wilson

Melisa A. Wilson, ARNP, ACNP-BC
Orlando Health Heart Institute

Erika Berman Rosenzweig

Erika S. Berman Rosenzweig, MD
Columbia University

Chair, PHA Scientific Leadership Council
Ex-Officio, Non-Voting

Victor Test, MD

ACCP Representative
Ex-Officio, Non-Voting


Michael Patrick Gray
Pulmonary Hypertension Association

Program Director, PHCC
Ex-Officio, Non-Voting


Developing and Implementing the PHCC Program

Since September 2011, members of the PHA Board of Trustees, the PHA Scientific Leadership Council, and other key stakeholders in the PH community approved the PHCC initiative in concept. A steering committee and task forces were organized and staffed to address accreditation criteria, program implementation, registry development, communication to key stakeholders and financial sustainability. The members below have been working since this time researching, accumulating and documenting information, developing logic models, defining action steps, building financial projections and validating the program content.

Murali Chakinala, MD (PHCC Chair)
Washington University in Saint Louis

Rino Aldrighetti

Richard Channick, MD
Harvard Medical School

C. Gregory Elliott, MD
University of Utah

Serpil Erzurum, MD
The Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Karen Fagan, MD
University of South Alabama

Bob Gray

Michael Patrick Gray

Carl Hicks

Wendy Hill, RN, NP-C, MSN

Steven Kawut, MD, MS
(Patient Registry Task Force Chair)
University of Pennsylvania

Vallerie McLaughlin, MD
University of Michigan

Stephen Mathai, MD, MHS
Johns Hopkins University

Olivia Onyeador, MHA

Ron Oudiz, MD
(Criteria Task Force Chair)
Harbor UCLA Medical Center

Abby Poms, RRT, RCP
(Implementation Task Force Co-Chair)
E Squared Trials and Registries, Inc.

Jeffrey Sager, MD, MSCE
Cottage Hospital

Robert Schilz, DO, PhD
Case Western Reserve University

Traci Stewart, RN, MSN
University of Iowa

Darren Taichman, MD
University of Pennsylvania

Victor Tapson, MD

Corey Ventetuolo, MD, MS
Brown University

Joel Wirth, MD
(Implementation Task Force Co-Chair)
Maine Medical Center

Roham Zamanian, MD
(Funding Task Force Chair)
Stanford University



PHCC Review Committee

The PHCC Review Committee is tasked with reviewing the site applications, conducting site visits, issuing accreditation decisions, and monitoring Centers' periodic status reports.

Joel Wirth, MD (Chair)
Maine Medical Center

Christine Archer-Chicko, MSN
Penn Presbyterian Medical Center

David Badesch, MD
University of Colorado

Anna Brown, RN, ARNP
Vanderbilt University

Bruce Brundage, MD
University of California, Los Angeles

Laura Duvall, PharmD, BCPS
The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

H. James Ford, MD
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Judy Germani, RN
Allegheny General Hospital

Daniel Grinnan, MD
Virginia Commonwealth University

Wendy Hill, RN, NP-C, MSN

Traci Housten, RN, MS
Johns Hopkins University

Amy Kimber, RN, APNP
Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin

Edward Kirkpatrick, DO
Children's Hospital of Wisconsin

Charlie Lee, MMSc, MPAS, PA-C
Brigham and Women's Hospital

Juliana Liu, RN, MSN, ANP-C
Stanford University

Srinivas Murali, MD
Allegheny General Hospital

Harold Palevsky, MD
Penn Presbyterian Medical Center

Abby Poms, RRT
E Squared Trials and Registries, Inc.

Ivan Robbins, MD
Vanderbilt University

Robert Schilz, DO, PhD
Case Western Reserve

Oksana Shlobin, MD
Inova Fairfax Hospital

Tim Williamson, MD
University of Kansas Hospital

Delphine Yung, MD
Seattle Children's Hospital

Dianne Zwicke, MD
Aurora St. Luke's Medical Center

Olivia Onyeador
Program Manager, PHCC
Ex-Officio, Non-Voting

Raising the Level of Care

Anticipated Outcomes

  • Patients are better informed about comprehensive PH care
  • Patients have improved access to Centers with expertise in PH
  • Patients experience less time between symptom onset and diagnosis
  • A medical community better informed about standards of PH care
  • Therapeutic modalities are appropriately used to improve long-term outcomes
  • Increased opportunities for collaboration between Centers for clinical care and PH research

PHCC Application

To complete your PHCC Application, download the PHCC Application Instructions Packet (.zip) then access the application portal to begin your application. Please direct questions to


If you have any questions or would like to get the latest updates on the PHCC initiative, contact us at

FacebookTwitterInstagram iconLinkedInYouTube

For optimal viewing of, please use a standards-compliant browser such as Google Chrome or Firefox.

The information provided on the PHA website is provided for general information only. It is not intended as legal, medical or other professional advice, and should not be relied upon as a substitute for consultations with qualified professionals who are familiar with your individual needs. PHA does not endorse or recommend any commercial products or services.

801 Roeder Road, Ste. 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910   Patient-to-Patient Support Line: 1-800-748-7274
    Privacy Policy    Terms of Use    Provide Feedback & Report Bugs

Designed by Matrix Group International, Inc.® | © 2017 Pulmonary Hypertension Association. All Rights Reserved.

BBB Accredited Charity BEST in AmericaCharity Navigator

The National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD) awarded PHA the Abbey S. Meyers Leadership Award in 2012 for outstanding service to PHA members in advocacy, education and other key areas.